Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Prayer According To The Word’

December 29, 2010

I’ve always struggled with consistency in prayer.  Have you?  I’m not talking about the type of prayer that is lifted up in dire times or desperate circumstances or even the type of prayer that is lifted up in a prayer service with other believers.  I’ve been able to manage those just fine.  It’s been the daily prayers that I’ve struggled with.

December, a year ago, I decided to start doing a prayer journal five days a week.  I’m thankful and excited to be able to celebrate my first year of doing that and sticking with it.  I missed a few days here and there but I kept chugging along.

As this year wraps up and and a new one begins in just a few short days, I am planning to extend my journaling to 7 days a week and include a new section of each entry devoted to praying for my wife and my son according to God’s word.

Just before Christmas I came across a great resource, what I would call prayer guides, from FamilyLife publishing on Christianbooks.com.  I threw them on my Christmas list and low and behold my wife ended up picking them up for me!  They are three laminated cards titled “Lifting my husband through prayer”, “Lifting my wife through prayer”, and “Lifting my children through prayer.”  I love them!

The best part of these prayer guides is that they help me to pray for my wife and my son according to God’s word.  Here are a few examples:

Lifting My Wife Through Prayer

“Lord, thank you for my wife.  I ask your will for her in these things according to your word.  Fill my wife with love for you, that she would love you ‘with all her heart and with all her soul and with all her mind.’ (Matthew 22:37-40)”

Lifting My Children Through Prayer

“Lord thank you for my children.  I ask your will for them in these things according to your word.  Give my children love for your Word.  Allow them to know and understand it, and to follow it wholeheartedly. (Psalm 1:1-3)”

The reason I think these prayer guides are so good is because I believe that prayer according to the Word of God is the most powerful prayer anyone can say.  Why?  Well consider these verses.

And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. John 14:13

14 This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.15And if we know that he hears us–whatever we ask–we know that we have what we asked of him.  1 John 5:14-15

We’re not talking “name dropping” here to get our prayers answered by God.  We’re talking praying in accordance with God’s will which is profoundly laid out in His word.  Therefore, we can have confidence in approaching God when asking for anything in accordance with His will, as taught to us through his Word by the Holy Spirit, that will bring glory to the Father through the Son.

Does this mean that all my prayers for my wife and my son and their prayers for me will be answered as long as they pray according to the Word?  Unfortunately, the answer is no.  See, we all have a free will to decide to be obedient to God and his word or not.  However, I have confidence that my prayers will be answered when my wife and my son are choosing to be obedient to God and His word.  That is powerful prayer!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

