Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘A Man of Conviction’

December 15, 2010

It’s interesting over the past 9 months how my thought process about many things has included a new component because I’m a father.  I’ve begun to make decisions and process thoughts based on how I would want to lead and teach my son Maverick.  All the parenting magazines talk about changes in “mommy” of the course of 9 months but this “daddy” has experienced a great deal of mental change during that time.

Recently I found myself in a situation where the Holy Spirit was urging me to stand on my convictions and to call out the righteousness within the circumstances.  Let me tell you, it was not easy.  It would have been so much easier to keep to myself and say nothing.  Although I’d have to say I believe my heart would have beat through my chest had I not opened my mouth.  Much of my thought process over the duration of that situation involved two components: a) what do you believe the word of God says, and b) what do you want to demonstrate to your son.  Overwhelmingly, those two questions consumed my thoughts and prayers as I contemplated my actions.  In the end, I believe I spoke in accordance with God’s word and set forth a good example for my son.

I believe that the Bible teaches us that a man must develop convictions based on the word of God and then be prepared to stand on them during the course of his life.  I base this belief on two passages of scripture.

“Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves.  Do what it says.  Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.”  James 1:22-24

“He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”  Micah 6:8

It is my prayer that the Lord would help me to continue to develop as a man of conviction and that in doing so I would provide an example for my son Maverick to follow.

Seek the counsel of God’s word this morning because you’ll be called to act justly according to it throughout this day.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

