Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘The Role of Disciplinarian’

December 13, 2010

As I prepare for fatherhood, one of the things that I’m looking forward to the least is having to discipline my son.  Training myself through God’s word this morning, the responsibilities I have as the disciplinarian in the home have been brought to my attention.  Interestingly enough, disciplining my son is not a separate role from teaching or training my son in the ways and words of the Lord.  Everything is tied in together.

I have no desire to see my son in any form of discomfort at any point in his life; yet the Bible reminds me that as a father, that same desire for the well-being of my son will require me to discipline him.

He who spares the rod hates his son, but he who loves him is careful to discipline him.  Proverbs 13:20

I have seen many children and teenagers who lack discipline from their parents, and in particular their fathers.  More often than not, those children are traveling a dangerous road in life.  The Bible warns us about that situation as well.

The rod of correction imparts wisdom, but a child left to himself disgraces his mother.  Proverbs 29:15

My prayer this morning is that the Lord would give me wisdom and discernment when it comes to disciplining my son.  I pray that my son would respect me for my efforts in training him as it says in Hebrews 12:9.  We are all called to be imitators of God (Eph. 5), and as a father, that includes the role of disciplinarian.  I have no hope in disciplining my son in the ways and words of the Lord without discipline.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

