Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘When The Devil Beats You Down’

December 10, 2010

Have you ever felt like some days Satan jumps on your back and just won’t let up?  Temptations seem to be more prevalent, memories of past sins are vibrant in your mind, and you begin to just feel whipped.  I recently had a day like that and reminded myself that when the devil beats you down you have to look to Jesus to get back up.

Satan’s crafty.  There’s no doubt about that.  His ways may be varied, but his methods are always the same, and his aim is constant.  He wants to pull or push, whichever works best, us away from God.  Usually in my life that happens when I fall into temptation (sometimes it’s even more of  walk than a fall) or I am reminded of past sins and temptations and I begin to bare the load of shame.

With the load of shame on my shoulders Satan suggests that God wants nothing to do with me.  But Satan is a liar.

He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.  John 8:44

Mark this down in your memory – Satan is a liar.  Always.  Just like the passage says, “there is NO TRUTH in him.”  Not even an ounce.  I’ve learned that as shameful as I may feel, and as boldly as Satan suggests that I steer clear of God, I need to run to God.

When the devil beats me down, I’ve learned to run to Jesus.  Yes, I’m often guilty and ashamed when I get to Him.  I know he already knows everything I’ve done for nothing is hidden from Him.  Even in my sin and shame, I’m loved.  Even in the discipline and consequences of my sin, I’m loved.

“Our fathers disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for good, that we may share in his holiness.  No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful.  Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.”  Hebrews 12:10-11

No matter what Satan uses to try and convince me that my sin, past or present, should keep me from my heavenly Father there’s one verse I always run to.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  1 John 1:9

Just a few verses later John writes:

My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin.  But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense – Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.  He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.  1 John 2:1-2

When the devil beats you down, look to Jesus to get back up.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-


One Comment leave one →
  1. Pat Turner permalink
    December 10, 2010 10:35 am

    Good devotion and good song.

Leave a Reply

