Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘You Only Have One Chance To Raise A Child’

December 8, 2010

“You only have one chance to raise a child.”  I read that several months ago in our local paper and it has stuck in my mind ever since.  It has been the source of discussion at our school about the importance of Christian education and it has given me much to think about as a father.  In fact, the more I ponder that statement the more I realize how much I need God to help me be a father as he’s called me to be according to his word.

There are simply no guarantees that my child will be a godly child or even come to know Jesus as his savior.  There’s no right formula, there’s no magic words, and there’s no wonder method.  Why?  Because everyone has their own free will and ultimately that is what stands between them and God; making the decision of their own free will to accept Jesus as their Lord and Savior.  Having said that, I can’t just throw my hands up in the air and be done with it all.

While there are no guarantees, a child raised in a godly home where both parents have a real and vibrant love of the Lord and his word is more likely to become a Christian than if they were raised in a different setting.  I consider it my role as the father to make sure the environment is sound, according to the word of God, for my children to grow up in.

I take this scripture literally:

Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.  These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts.  Impress them on your children.  Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Deuteronomy 6:5-7

If indeed you only have one chance to raise a child, it stands to reason that as parents we need to do everything we can and then some to live out a life that is devoted to Christ, obedient to God’s word, and open before our children.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

3 Comments leave one →
  1. susan hubbard permalink
    December 8, 2010 8:03 am

    tony, this touched my heart. i think everyday that i did not always help my children in their walk with God. i am thankful that you have this faith even before you are a father. praying for you and leann as you raise your little son. but i don’t look back, just strive on with a faith in Him!!

    • December 8, 2010 8:22 am

      Hey Susan…
      We’re all on a Journey and we can be thankful for where the Lord has brought us and what we’ve learned along the way. Like you said, no looking back, just pressing toward the goal! Thank you for your encouragement!

  2. Pat Turner permalink
    December 8, 2010 2:48 pm

    Tony I know you and Leann will make good parents to your son Maverick.

Leave a Reply

