Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Sowing The Seed In My Son’

December 6, 2010

Yesterday marked 1 month until Maverick’s due date.  Can you believe that?  One month away?  It seems like just a few weeks ago that my wife and I were announcing we were expecting.  Where has the time gone?  I have a feeling I’m going to be saying that a lot as a father now aren’t I?  Feeling especially unqualified in the fatherhood department this morning, I returned to a familiar passage of scripture on being a godly father, Ephesians 6:4.

Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.  Ephesians 6:4

I don’t know if this is completely true or not, but it sure seems to me that whatever the father likes and loves the son tends to like and love.  My dad was big into computers.  I remember he had a Tandy 1000 from Radio Shack long before most people every thought about having a home computer.  Well, it’s no surprise that I got into computers as well.  I even make a living now working with computers.  My dad loved taking me to the movies.  I can still remember him taking me to see Back To The Future 2 in one of the AMC theaters in Northern VA, complete with a stop at Pizza Hut beforehand.  They were running a promotion on a certain pizza deal that included Back To the Future 2 sunglasses (I got the black ones).  Movies were magical.  In fact, they still are to me.  I love going to the movies.

Some dads love sports, some dads love books, some dads love nature, and some dads love computers.  None of those things are bad, but personally I want to pass on something more than that to my son Maverick.  I want to pass on a love for the Lord and his precious word.

You see, the call on fathers from God’s word is to bring up a child “in the training and instruction of the Lord.”  How in the world am I supposed to do that?  Well, thankfully God is a master planner and he hasn’t left me in the dark.  In fact, God designed a special tool just for training and instructing, His word.

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.  2 Timothy 3:16-17

When it comes to parenting, you only get one shot to raise your child.  I believe making the right steps early is crucial.  Sow the seed of God’s word into your children because a tree can’t grow where a seed was never planted.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

