Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘A Pilgrim’s Progress’

November 15, 2010

You know, I have never read that classic Christian allegory, “The Pilgrim’s Progress” by John Bunyan.  It is on my list of books to read but I’ve just never gotten around to it yet.  I know the basics of the story and interestingly enough as I was thinking about it this week I also got to thinking about my travels over the last 12 years – spiritually and physically.

Dictionary.com defines a pilgrim as a person who journeys, esp. a long distance, to some sacred place as an act of religious devotion.  One of the main reasons  I named this blog, The Journey, is because I believe our lives here on earth are finite and that beyond life there is an eternal destination – a sacred place we have traveled long to reach.

If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return.  Instead, they were longing for a better country – a heavenly one.  therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepare a city for them.  Hebrews 11:15-16

I left high school in June 1998 and have been on the move ever since.  I think this weekend I counted 15 different places I have moved within a 12 year period.  Now granted, many of those places have been within a relatively small area (Franklin County and Northern VA ) but still – I have moved a lot!  The interesting thing about moving, at least that I have found, is that your willingness and motivation to ‘let go’ of some of your things increases with each move.

Spiritually, I find the same thing.  The more you walk with Christ and the closer that relationship becomes – the more willing you are to ‘let go’ of some things in your life.  Finances, relationships, careers, parenting, plans – you begin to realize you need to be on God’s page rather than him being on yours.  As Colossians 1:18 says, “so that in all everything he might have the preeminence.”

I’m thankful I can look back over the past 12 years since leaving home and confidently say I’m closer to the Lord now than I was then.  This pilgrim has made some progress.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen Rutrough permalink
    November 15, 2010 9:09 am

    God is still working on each one of us to mold us into the person He wants us to be; but I am so thankful that my daughter married such a godly man! Love you.

  2. pat turner permalink
    November 15, 2010 11:34 am

    Marrying a godly person is very important.

  3. November 16, 2010 5:34 pm

    Thank you Helen!

Leave a Reply

