Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Dependability’

November 12, 2010

If there’s one thing that makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something during the day it’s when I know that someone has depended on me and I’ve come through for them.  That makes me feel like I matter.  It makes me feel like I have purpose and meaning.  It makes me feel needed.  It’s a good feeling.  This week God has reminded me that desires to be depended on as well.

My wife Leigh Ann and I are expected our first child in January and we are rapidly approaching our due date. Like any new parents we have a list of all the things we feel like we need and what we would like to have around when baby Maverick arrives.  However, the list is long and expensive which puts many of the things out of our reach financially.  Thankfully we have family that we can depend on to come through for us.

My mom loves to come through for people.  She loves to be the dependable one.  (I wonder where I got it from??)  This opportunity for baby Maverick was right up her alley.  Sure enough, after one phone call this week mom and visited the store and picked up some of the larger items that we needed.  She had even coordinated financial contributions from other family members like my dad and my grandmom to help out. It was nice to be able to depend on her and I’m sure she enjoyed it as well.

As I was thanking God for that the other day in my prayer journal, he kept bringing up the point of dependence on him.  God’s desire to be depended on and to come through for me is infinitely greater than my desire to be depended on.  As good as I feel when someone depends on me and I come through for them, God receives infinitely more pleasure when he is depended on by me – and rightfully so.

One of the characteristics of God that makes him holy is his dependability or his trustworthiness.  Everything God has planned will come to pass as says it will and as he directs it to.  He is sovereign over all.

The LORD Almighty has sworn, “Surely, as I have planned, so it will be, and as I have purposed, so it will stand.  Isaiah 14:24

Everything God has planned is perfect and is for the furtherance of his kingdom, the salvation of the lost, and the sanctification of the Christians.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

God is the only one, in all of creation, that is completely dependable.  Rely upon him today and he will see you through.  He desires to be depended on.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. susan hubbard permalink
    November 12, 2010 6:57 pm

    AMEN!!

  2. November 12, 2010 7:02 pm

    I’ve heard it said that as we grow and as we raise our children the goal is for them to become less and less dependant on us but more and more dependant on God. Encouraging words Tony, thanks for your diligence and obedience.

Leave a Reply

