Skip to content

::Devotional:: November 5th, 2005

November 5, 2010

Some days are just surreal.  In the midst of full reality it seems like you are simply in a dream because your mind can’t fully process the weight of the situation.  Five years ago today I had such a day.

Five years ago I received a phone call in the early hours of the morning that I never expected.  My friend Adam Spencer had been in a freak car accident and was in the emergency room at Franklin Memorial and was in bad shape.  Before I was even halfway there I received another phone call announcing that he didn’t make it.  Talk about surreal.

When I arrived at the hospital I have to admit that I expected someone to tell me that it was a mistake and that he had made it.  I mean, it was Adam – he couldn’t be gone.  I’ll never forget walking through the doors of the ER there in Rocky Mount and turning to my left to see Adam’s mom Cindy standing in the middle of the hallway, holding Adam’s clothes with tears in her eyes asking me “What are we going to do Tony, what are we going to do?”  Talk about surreal.

Even looking back, now five years later, there is still a sense of shock in me.  I imagine there always will be.  I miss my friend, my brother in Christ, my accountability partner.

Today I’m choosing to think about all the good times we had together and what an amazing man of God he was even as a teenager.

Some of you who read this blog may have never known Adam and for you I would encourage you to visit these two sites and read about him.

I believe I’ll see Adam again in heaven one day.  I believe I’ll recognize him and he’ll recognize me just as many recognized Jesus in his resurrected body.  I believe we’ll join together in the worship of our King and live in the glory of his light and his love for all eternity.

Join me today in lifting up his family and friends in prayer.  Only God knows how to minister to each of their hearts and provide the love and the comfort they need.

I miss you Adam.  I love you.  I look forward to seeing you again brother!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-


3 Comments leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    November 5, 2010 9:43 am

    Adam was a good boy and a good christian who loved the lord and people. a very talented young man. He will never be forgotten. I love these 3 tapes.

  2. regina permalink
    November 5, 2010 10:58 am

    I never had the priviledge of meeting Adam…but after being at TOBC for over 2 years and reading the sites you posted, I feel like I know that he loved the Lord with all of his heart, mind,soul and strength…I will pray today for his family and all who were close to him…may God continue to fill that void with His love!!

    • November 5, 2010 11:01 am

      Thank you Regina…he was a very fun and compassionate young man, souled out to the Lord.

Leave a Reply

