Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘If God Won’t Give It – You Don’t Need It’

November 1, 2010

This weekend I surprised my wife with somewhat of a mini-vacation.  It was originally going to be just a day trip out on the Blue Ridge Parkway but  we ended up stretching that out into a two-day adventure!  Since we were away from our home church on Sunday we took advantage of watching Charles Stanley of First Baptist Church Atlanta on TV.  Through his sermon God reminded me that He will provided all that I need to live rightly before Him.

All temptations boil down to one question, “do I trust God to meet my need or will I attempt to exalt myself above him and meet that need myself?”  The Bible tells us that God will not withhold anything that we need in order to live righteously before him.

32 He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all–how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?  Romans 8:32

God has given us life.  God has given us love.  God has given us grace.  God has given us his Son.  God has given us the Holy Spirit.  God has given us the Bible.  God has given us the church.  God has given us spiritual gifts.  God has given us his promises.  God has given us righteousness.  God has given us forgiveness.  God has given us understanding.  God has given us eternal life.

We should desire to live a life that is pleasing to God as believers.  In fact, the Bible says that only those who are led by the Spirit can please God because “those who are led by the sinful nature cannot please God.” (Romans 8:8)  We should aim to act right and be right in God’s eyes; to live righteously before Him.  God is so gracious that he is more than willing to give us the means to do so.  In fact, God is willing to take on the lion’s share of the work.

for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.  Philippians 2:13

There are many things we want in life and very few things we need.  I’m thankful that God is perfectly discerning in how he answers my prayers and how he supplies the provisions for my life.  He continues to meet all of my needs and in his graciousness has allowed to me have many of my wants.  At 30 years old I’m finally starting to grasp the fact that “If God won’t give it – I don’t need it.”

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

