Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘We Need A Remedial Faith’

October 27, 2010

Have you noticed how many Christian resources are out there that talk about a revolutionary or radical faith?  I count at least five books of that sort that I can see on my bookshelf right here from my desk.  I understand the emphasis these adjectives put on a drastic change in our life when it comes to faith and I understand the marketing benefit of those words as well.  However, I would suggest that what we really need is not a revolutionary or radical faith but a remedial one.

What in the world does remedial mean, right?  You’ve probably heard of remedial math or remedial reading through the years haven’t you?  All remedial means is the intent to correct or improve one’s skill in a specific field. (dictionary.com) So, anyone involved in remedial reading is working to improve their reading skills.  Remedial means getting better at something.

Rather than a radical or revolutionary faith we need remedial faith.  We need to work to improve our faith skills.  What’s radical about studying your Bible, about prayer, about fellowship with other believers, about compassion for those in need?  Those are all basics of our faith in Jesus Christ.  We need to work to improve on our basic skills.  We need a remedial faith.

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.  Colossians 2:6-7

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 7:56 am

    At the exact same time you tweeted this, I was trying to figure out if I was going to download the six hour audiobook of Radical by David Platt. After some self examination (and a dictionary search of “remedial”) I understood your point. I did finally decide to nix the book and study the bible a little more… 🙂 And then while I was sewing I iTuned his “Radical” sermon series on podcast… (in my mind it was different!) I think the term Radical and Revolutionary appeals to some of us that are afraid their faith is shallow and just “going through the motions.” Although what I have figured out through Crazy Love and Radical is that they encourage living out the bible different than what you have thought was acceptable even just last week… which does encourage reading the bible and studying on your convictions, right?! Probably the biggest thing I have found is to look at my life and look for areas where I am a comfortable American Christian (which is everywhere because that is exactly what I am) and seek to improve. What I am saying is, I get it. But since I just blew up Facebook about Crazy Love and Radical I thought I better sound off! 🙂

  2. October 27, 2010 2:22 pm

    Excelent points Joni. Maybe what we need is remedial training in the radical change of revolutionary proportions that occurs from the amazing grace of Jesus Christ? I am just cautious of emotionalism because people can get too caught up in emotion and anything motivated by emotion tends to fall apart in a short while you know? The only thing constant with emotions is change. I’ve known some people to get so caught up in the “I’m revolutionary” part that they forgo the the actual faith component.

    When it comes to American Christianity and a concern over a “going through the motions” type faith – I am right there with you! A.W. Tozer said “An honest man with an open Bible and a pad and pencil is sure to find out what is wrong with him very quickly.”

    I’m putting Crazy Love and Radical on my book list and I look forward to reading them both!

Leave a Reply

