Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Do The Right Thing’

October 20, 2010

So here I am, just a couple of months before Maverick’s due date, and my mind and heart gravitate towards the responsibilities of being a father again this morning.  Therefore I am driven to God’s word to seek wisdom from the absolute truth about fatherhood.  Today’s truth is that I have a responsibility to raise my son in the training and instruction of the without exasperating or discouraging him.

I want to be a father like Abraham is described in the Bible.

For I have chosen him, so that he will direct his children and his household after him to keep the way of the LORD by doing what is right and just… Genesis 18:19

Part of my responsibility as a father is to seek to do the right thing in life.  Let me clarify that by saying, doing the right thing in life according to the word of God.  My wife and I will be the first examples Maverick will have of what is right and what is wrong.  Therefore we need to keep that in mind and make sure that what we deem as right is right according to the word of God.

The Bible says that as a father, there is a possibility that I could exasperate my son in raising him rather than encouraging him.

Fathers, do not exasperate our children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.  Ephesians 6:4

Another phrase used there is “do not provoke your children to anger.”  In Colossians Paul writes, “Fathers, don’t aggravate your children. If you do, they will become discouraged and quit trying.” (3:21)

What could possibily cause me to exasperate my child as I’m raising him up in the Lord?  Well, right off hand I would think that holding Maverick to a standard I wasn’t willing to hold myself to would be one way.  Therefore if I want my son to be a man who fears and loves God and has a tremendous hunger for God’s word and his obedience to it – guess what I need to make sure I am doing?

I think unjustified discipline out of anger, frustration, or annoyance would be another way that I could potentially exasperate Maverick.  Nobody likes to be punished but especially when there is no legitamate rhyme or reason behind it.

Finally, I think refusing to admit to my mistakes and say I’m sorry to Maverick when I’m wrong would be exasperating to him growing up.  I know that exasperates me with other people even as an adult.

So what’s my plan to do all this?  (A friend of mine jokes with me all the time about my “strategic planning.”)  Humbly bow before the Lord’s throne of grace each morning and seek his forgiveness, his correction, his discipline, his training, and his love.  Then, try to treat my son the same way my Heavenly Father treats me.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

