Skip to content

::Devotional:: ’14 Fridays’

October 1, 2010

Reality is really setting in.  Within 14 Fridays I will be holding my son in my arms.  His little life will be the shared responsibility of my wife and I and he will be completely dependent on us.

Within 14 Fridays I’ll be a dad, a father, a completely new role for me.

Lord help me to be dependent on you,

as Maverick will be dependent on me.

Within 14 Fridays I’ll be a dad, a father, with another mouth to feed.

Lord help me to provide for Maverick,

as you will provide for me.

Within 14 Fridays I’ll be dad, a father, serving to protect and give security.

Lord help me to protect Maverick,

as you will protect me.

Within 14 Fridays I’ll be a dad, a father, a completely new role for me.

Do you know what I believe is the #1 responsibility of a father when it comes to his children?

5 Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.  Deuteronomy 6:5

Why is that the #1 responsibility?

2 so that you, your children and their children after them may fear the LORD your God as long as you live by keeping all his decrees and commands that I give you, and so that you may enjoy long life. Deuteronomy 6:2

How in the world is that supposed to happen?

6 These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 8 Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 9 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates. Deuteronomy 6:6-8

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. Helen Rutrough permalink
    October 1, 2010 4:54 pm

    BEAUTIFUL message. Beautiful prayer. Y’all are gonna be great parents! Love you.

Leave a Reply

