Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Knowing Your Purpose’

September 8, 2010

There’s a light switch in my apartment that continues to baffle me.  It’s part of a double switch where the other switch operates the only light in our kitchen, but this switch in particular does nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  Sometimes I wonder if the electrician only had a double switch left in the truck and that’s what he installed.  I haven’t been so curious as to see if it’s even wired up but as far as I’m concerned it is useless.  It’s without purpose.

My walk with Christ was a lot like that light switch for a period of time in my life.  I didn’t understand my purpose.  I mean, I knew I needed to be saved, I knew how to be saved, and therefore I got saved – but I was left to figure things out on my own from there.  “You’re saved!”  “You’re going to heaven.”  Was that my purpose?  Did that mean I was done – that I was no longer useful because I had fulfilled my purpose?  I got saved when I was like 5 years old.  What was I supposed to do for the rest of my life?  Are you tracking with me how confusing that was?  Can anybody identify with me?

Recently I was reminded of the purpose and the meaning that I found for my life in the book of Ephesians and I wanted to share that in case any of you reading have struggled with the same thing.

“In love he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will – to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely give us in the One he loves.”  Ephesians 1:5-6

“In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will, in order that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, might be for the praise of his glory.  Ephesians 1:11

This is why the Apostle Paul wrote “so whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God” in 1 Corinthians 10:31.

The light switch in my kitchen is useless because it has no purpose.  I wonder how many of us have lived year after year, saved, but just like that light switch; useless and without purpose?  Know your purpose and live it out for the Lord today!  To God Alone Be the Glory!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

