Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Waiting Upon The Lord’

August 24, 2010

I felt it!  Last night I felt it!  I finally felt Maverick move and it was incredible!  I’ve been waiting for a long time to put my hand on my wife’s tummy and feel my son move and it has finally happened!  Immediately after I felt him move I had the thought that waiting to feel Maverick is very much like waiting upon the Lord.

My wife will be 21 weeks along in her pregnancy tomorrow and we’ve know since the beginning that the Lord was forming our child in her womb.  We’ve seen the physical signs, the blood test results, and even the ultrasounds.  There’s never been any doubt that God was at work.  All along I’ve been anxious to put my hand on her tummy and feel the results of that work.  I’ve had to wait for things to progress and develop so that I could actually feel him though; and now it’s happened!

31 Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength ; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and notbecome weary.  Isaiah 40:31

There is power and purpose in waiting upon the Lord.  The scriptures remind us this morning that those who wait for the Lord will gain strength.  The Hebrew word that is used for ‘wait’ in that verse means to wait with expectance, to hope for.  You can think of how the father waited with his eyes on the horizon for his prodigal son to return.

Maybe you’re waiting upon the Lord this morning just as I had waited to feel Maverick move.  If so, you can be certain of two things.  One, God is already at work.  In you and around you God is working.  Two, you will experience what you need to experience when you need to experience if you can continue to be patient and trust in Him.  Remember, those who can manage to wait eagerly and expectantly upon the Lord will be strengthened.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    August 24, 2010 11:07 am

    Good devotion I love this song.

Leave a Reply

