Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘So Much To Learn’

August 20, 2010

It’s good to be humbled by God’s word.  It’s good to be reminded that you have areas of your life where you still need major renovation work done.  It’s good to be shown that you still have so much to learn.  Thankfully the Lord is always an available and willing renovator.

Being a husband isn’t easy.  Well, I guess that’s a relative statement but it’s certainly not as easy I had thought it was going to be.  Most of the husbands I had seen growing up made it look so easy.  Now, here I am and I have so much to learn – but who will teach me?

I can read book after book and I can study scripture after scripture but I still need someone to break it down and show me how to be a good and godly husband.  I need to be discipled.  Unfortunately, I don’t see many people available to do that.  It’s much easier to teach a group than it is to disciple and individual.  Disciples are just not something that can be mass produced.  They are like athletes who have to be trained.

I admit this with shame but with honesty when I say that I need help learning how to love my wife as Christ loves the church, to give myself up for her, and to not be embittered against her at times.  Maybe I’m the only husband who struggles with that and if that’s the case so be it.  Regardless, it’s an area were I need renovation.

This morning, God’s word has exposed areas in my life where I have so much to learn.

Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them.  Colossians 3:19

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.  Ephesians 5:25-27

Pray for me.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

