Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Name Bearer’

August 11, 2010

Yesterday my wife and I found out that our baby is a boy!  We have already decided to name him Maverick Adam Quist.  He will be my firstborn son and the bearer of my last name; through him my family name will carry on.  The choices he makes and the life that he lives will either bring honor or shame to our family name; not unlike how the life of a Christian can bring honor or shame upon the name of the Lord.

It has only been in recent years that I’ve begun to understand what life after salvation is all about.  Before that I was confused about why I needed to live “right” if I was already forgiven and accepted by my heavenly father through the blood of Jesus Christ.  When I accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior I called upon his name and now as a Christian I bear the name of the Christ.

The Apostle Paul wrote:

I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. 2 Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. 3Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.  Ephesians 4:1-3

I pray even now that my son carries my family name with honor and that he is proud to be a Quist.  More than that I pray that my son would come to a point in his life where he calls upon the name of the Lord and begins to bear the name of Christ upon his life.

Live your life today for the Lord.  Seek to bring honor to his name and reflect the glory of his presence upon your life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    August 11, 2010 11:30 am

    Congratulations to you and your wife. I know both of you are very excited.

Leave a Reply

