Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘I’m No Superman’

August 9, 2010

Here’s a little secret; men are task oriented beings.  We have to have something to fix, conquer, or complete in order to feel like we are worth anything.  I’ve often that I have to work in a place where my daily efforts make an impact in order for me to be happy with my job.  I’m thankful the Lord has provided a place for me like that at CHA.  But sometimes the need to fix, conquer, or complete can cause us to develop a bit of a superman complex.  I’m reminded this morning that I’m no superman.

Men, at least this one, tend to focus their energy and efforts where they experience success.  There is a need to succeed within us and we are driven towards that goal.  But, I’m reminding myself through God’s word this morning that when my drive to succeed overtakes my willingness to humble myself before the Lord, my priorities are out of order.

Jesus taught us to pray saying:

Our father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.  Matthew 6:9-10

There’s a lyric from MercyMe’s “In The Blink Of An Eye” that says “how can I further your kingdom, when I’m so wrapped up in mine?”  How true that is, isn’t it?  I am a servant of the king and my success lies in the furtherance of his kingdom.

I am the vine; you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.  John 15:5

The Lord reminds me this morning that I’m no superman and that my success lies in abiding in him.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

