Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Unless The Lord Builds The House’

August 5, 2010

Decisions seem to carry so much more weight these days.  My wife and I will have our first child in January and my role as a provider for my family continues to become more and more of a reality to me each day.  There’s a strong pull within my to labor long and hard in order to provide, but I’m reminded from God’s word this morning that unless the Lord is leading me my labor is in vain.

I believe the Lord rewards hard work, but I also believe the Lord rewards faith as well.  Is there a balance to be found there?  According to the scriptures there is.

1 Unless the LORD builds the house, its builders labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain. 2 In vain you rise early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat– for he grants sleep to those he loves.  Psalm 127:1-3

He grants sleep to those he loves, did you catch that?  What would cause a lack of sleep?  How about worry and work?  Worry always causes a lack of sleep and working harder and longer will do so as well.  Worrying is a symptom of a deeper problem regarding our faith in the Lord.  I believe working more, to the detriment of our health and family, is a symptom of the same problem.  Trusting in the Lord results in resting in the Lord.  He grants us sleep.

I believe the Lord wants us to work hard and to work faithfully.  But, I don’t believe the Lord wants us to work ourselves to self-sufficiency.  There’s a draw within me to consider taking on additional side jobs, maybe a part-time job, to meet the financial needs my family will take on this year with the new baby.  That would require me to work harder and longer for sure.  But, I believe the right thing to do is work hard in the opportunities the Lord has already given me and faithfully trust that he will provide for the needs as they come about.  Do you see how there’s rest in that trust?  As his word says, unless the Lord builds the house (provides) its builders labor in vain.

Let’s pray – Lord, please give us the strength we need today to work hard at the jobs you’ve blessed us with.  Help us to bring honor and glory to your name through our hard work.  Father, I also pray that you’d help us to have faith and trust in you.  I pray that trust would result in rest as we look to you for your provisions.  Help us to labor faithfully, but not to labor in vain.  In the name of Jesus, Amen.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

