Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘No Mercy’

August 2, 2010

Anyone who was alive in the 80’s probably remembers the film, the Karate Kid.  Remember the motto of the Kobra Kai?  No mercy!  Mercy is for the weak!  Well, I kind of felt like I was fighting the Kobra Kai yesterday afternoon except it wasn’t them, it was the evil one.  He had no mercy on me.

Yesterday started off great.  I taught a lesson in Sunday school, our service was anointed, I felt like I had been in the presence of the Lord all morning.  Yet, at the end of the day when I laid my head on my pillow I felt battered, beaten, and broken.  So what happened right?

I failed to see the attack of the evil one coming on and when it arrived I struggled within my own flesh to resist it and defend against it.  All that did was make it worse because I got caught up in my flesh and neglected the guidance of the holy spirit.  Self took over and pride kicked in.

What should I have done?  I should have stopped and prayed.

41 “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.”  Matthew 26:41

My devotion time this morning reminded me that the life of a Christian is not based on self-help, but rather a selfless hope.

Our help is in the name of the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.  Psalm 124:8

Make no mistake, the enemy is out to destroy us and when he finds us unprepared – his attacks are merciless.  When they come, and they will, lift your eyes to the hills and look to the Lord in prayer.

I am thankful for the word of the Lord that is able to heal my wounds and restore my courage this morning.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen Rutrough permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:57 am

    We can thank Him every day for his forgiveness, grace, & mercy that we do not deserve but He graciously gives to his children!

  2. August 3, 2010 6:38 am

    Amen

Leave a Reply

