Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Till The Answer Comes…And Sometimes It Comes Fast’

July 20, 2010

How about a little bluegrass this morning?  That should get you moving on a Tuesday morning right?  ‘Till The Answer Comes’ by Paul Overstreet is a song that is probably familiar to many of you at least lyrically.  “Till the answer comes, you gotta keep prayin'”.   Remember it now?  Sometimes you pray and pray and it takes a long time for the answer to come.  But sometimes the answer comes really fast!

Yesterday morning during my devotional time I lifted up a prayer about a new situation I had learned about only the night before.  My prayer was simple.  Lord if you want me to be involved, show me where, show me how, and help me not to miss any opportunity you place before me here.  I certainly was expecting to pray about this for days, weeks, and maybe even months.  Keep praying till the answer comes, you know?

Well, the answer came by yesterday afternoon!  The Lord had answered my prayer and of all things I found out through Facebook.  Someone, who I thought was totally unrelated to the situation contacted me and suddenly the opportunity that I had prayed for was there.  It was there in such a way that I would have no way of missing it.  The Lord answered my prayer and made sure I was aware that he had answered it!

I tell you, nothing can fan the flame of your prayer life like an answered prayer!  It builds your confidence in the creator and helps you to humble yourself before his holiness.

I call on you, O God, for you will answer me; giver ear to me and hear my prayer.  Psalm 17:6

An answered prayer reminds you that the ear of the Lord is turned towards his children and that many times we have not because we ask not.  I believe it was C.S. Lewis who stated that we see little from God because we expect little from God.  Perhaps “Great Expectations” would have been a better title for our prayer journals than for a Dicken’s classic.

How about you today?  Are you seeing little from God because you are expecting little?  Have you given up praying about something because you think the Lord has become calloused to your request?  Whether God answers yes, no, or wait – he will answer and with humble heart you will know what he says.  But until you know, until the answer comes, you’ve got to keep praying!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    July 20, 2010 1:12 pm

    I like this song. This is a good devotion.

Leave a Reply

