Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Live Long And Prosper’

July 16, 2010

Ok, the title of this devotion is about as close to Star Trek as I want to get here.  Spock’s catchy salutation and split fingered hand gesture are iconic but irrelevant to this devotion other than the fact that, ‘Live Long And Prosper’, made a good title. Haha!  God’s word promises an enjoyable and long life on this earth for children if they will honor and obey their parents when they are young.  As a first-time parent, I want to know what all I need to be doing so that when my child honors and obeys me they will be directed towards a long and enjoyable life.

The Apostle Paul wrote to the Ephesians and explained this promise to them regarding their children.

1 Children, obey your parents in the LORD, for this is right. 2 “Honor your father and mother”–which is the first commandment with a promise– 3 “that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.”  Ephesians 6:1-3

What will I need to do to make sure they live long and prosper when honoring and obeying me?  When you think about it, there’s a lot of responsibility that hinges on the parents in this verse.  But nevertheless God promises the end result right there in his word.  To find out what I need to be doing to fulfill my end of the deal, I need only to look back a few verses into Ephesians 5.

God calls my wife and I to separate but equal roles of responsibility as parents and outlines those responsibilities in detail in Ephesians 5.  For myself, the Lord calls me to spiritual leadership, self-sacrifice, and unconditional love within my family.

23 For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior.

25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy,cleansingb her by the washing with water through the word, 27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. 28 In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies.  Ephesians 5:23, 25-28

My wife called to a different, but equal, set of responsibilities in this passage.

22 Wives, submit to your husbands as to the LORD.

24 Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.  Ephesians 5:22,24

Let me try to sum this all up so that it’s a little easier for me to understand and swallow here this morning.  When I lead my family under the Lordship of Jesus Christ and love my wife as Christ loved the church and my wife is submissive to that leadership as unto the Lord, and my children honor and obey us as parents…then it will go well with them and they may enjoy a long life on the earth.  That sounds about right.

Like I said, there’s a whole lot of that promise for my children that hinges on the actions and responsibilities of my wife and I.  To all you parents out there, pray for us and we’ll pray for you!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

