Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘My Hope Is In The Word Of The Lord’

July 15, 2010

I might as well fess up now, I’m fearful of failing as a father.  I’m not even really sure what failing as a father would look like but I know that is a thought that is heavy on my mind these days.  My first child will be here in January and I’m excited and scared to death all at the same time.  The only hope I have in avoiding failure as a father is by following the word of the Lord.

One of the most relevant passages of the bible on parenting is found in Deuteronomy 6:6-10

These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts.  Impress them on your children.  Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.  Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.

This is not a passage on how to use scripture for the interior and exterior design of your house, but rather a passage that directs parents to surround their children with the word of the Lord.

I see two ways that I will be able to surround my children with the word of the Lord.  The first way will be more indirect than the second.  When the decisions I make as the head of the household are directed by the word of the Lord, my household will be surrounded by the word of the Lord.  When what I allow to come into my household is directed by the word of the Lord, my household will be surrounded by the word of the Lord.  And when I establish the rules of our home based on the word of the Lord, my household will be surrounded by the word of the Lord.

Secondly, when the things of God are discussed with and in front of my children, they will be surrounded by the word of the Lord.  When the scriptures are read, taught, and discussed with and in front of my children, they will be surrounded by the word of the Lord.  And when myself and my children are obedient to the Holy Spirit, they will be surrounded by the word of the Lord.

Like I said earlier, if there is any hope for me not failing as a father, it is the hope I have in the word of the Lord.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

