Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Fighting Frustration’

July 13, 2010

I have always said that frustration comes from false expectations and yesterday was a prime example of that theory in my own life.  An unexpected computer problem came up that should have been a simple fix but ended up being an all day ordeal that caused a great deal of frustration within me.  I felt like Rocky in the ring with Ivan Drago in Rocky IV.  Round after round I was being pummeled by the enemy.

My expectation was that I’d be able to fix this little problem in a few minutes and when those minutes turned to an hour, then two hours, then three hours, and so on, I was frustrated because I did not meet my own expectations.  However, my biggest failure of the day was not that I couldn’t resolve the issue quickly, it was that I neglected to seek the Lord’s guidance and help in the midst of the situation.  The harder the problem became the more I tried to fix it myself and all that did was make things worse.  Never once did I stop and pray.  I was consumed with the task and in doing so I let my spiritual guard down.  Within no time the fiery darts of the evil one were hitting their mark.

One dart after another came flying my way and each one brought a new degree of anxiousness.  Frustration, then doubt in my abilities, then a fear of failure, then irritability, then anger, and the list goes on and on.  The enemy was relentless.  But was this avoidable?  Could I have done something to withstand the attacks of the enemy that I didn’t do?  Yes, I could have and should have stopped to pray.

There’s an old tradition that says you should never pray for patience because the Lord has to bring about trials in your life to strengthen your patience.  However, patience is a fruit of the spirit of which we should always pray for more fruitfulness in our lives.

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Galatians 5:22

I needed to pray for patience. I needed to pray for self-control.  I needed to submit to the urgings of the Holy Spirit.  Instead, I laid down my shield of faith and ran with wreckless abandoned straight into the camp of the enemy.

When trials come our way and frustrations mount we would do well to be obedient to God’s word which says:

6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    July 13, 2010 9:44 am

    Rocky prays before he gets in the ring. That is a good movie.

Leave a Reply

