Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘The Experience of Believing’

June 30, 2010

Some days I feel like I walk by faith and some days I feel like I walk by sight.  Truth be told it’s more like for a few minutes I live by faith and then for a few minutes I live by sight repeatedly throughout the course of the day.  I have crossed bridges of faith and I’ve faced chasms of fact.  Maybe that’s part of the struggle for every believer or maybe it just shows how far I’ve got to grow, I don’t know.

I struggle day in and day out but I’d like to think that at the end of the day my life can be characterized as living by faith and not by sight.

We live by faith, not by sight.  2 Corinthians 5:7

As I read through that passage and the surrounding context I was reminded of how often I’ve told myself, “Even though you can’t see God working you have to live in such a way that you act on the fact that you know He is.”  There’s more to it than that though.

We are to live by faith.  Faith is the sum of the convictions we hold based on the word of the Lord.  It is what we act upon and not always what we talk about.  It is what we know with or without experience.  It is part of our character.  It in internal.  It is a difficult means to live by.  It is who we are in Christ.

We don’t live by sight.  The Greek word for sight in this passage means the external or outward appearance, the shape, and the form.  It is what we can see of others and what others can see of us.  It is what we know only by experience.  It is external.  It is the easiest way to live.  It is who we are without Christ.

Seek to live by faith today and not by sight.  Don’t rely on the ease of simply showing up and looking the part.  Look to be transformed through the course of the day by yielding to the power and the urgings of the Holy Spirit.  Strive to be like Christ!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    June 30, 2010 9:19 am

    This is a very good devotion today.

Leave a Reply

