Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Truth in The Karate Kid’

June 14, 2010

I’m a huge fan of many of the classic 80’s movies, Top Gun, The Goonies, Indiana Jones, and especially The Karate Kid.  In preparation for seeing the remake just released in theaters, my wife and I watched the original again last night.  That movie never gets old for me.  In fact, I think I get more excited each time I watch it.  As I watched it last night a particular scene jumped out at me and I immediately recognized a Biblical truth that I want to share this morning.

The Karate Kid is a true underdog story.  As Daniel, the Karate Kid, seeks to learn Karate from Mr. Miyagi he comes to a point of a major decision and commitment.  Watch…

Squish, just like grape.  Commitment is commitment, there is no middle of the road.  In the movie, Daniel would either commit to learn Karate, or commit not to learn it.  I’ve recently started a work out routine that will take me through an intense 90 day regiment.  I’m either committed or I’m not, there’s no middle of the road.  Middle of the road, squish – just like grape.

The words of Jesus proclaimed this truth long before this movie was ever made.

If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.  Matthew 16:24-25

The Christian life is not easy and I’ll be the first to admit there are many stumbles and mistakes made each day.  But the question is, are you committed enough to get back up again?  Sin is easy, righteousness is beyond our capabilities; that’s why we need to commune daily with the Lord through his word and through prayer.

I say this in love, but with all boldness because I hold the same expectation before myself each day – if you are not daily in the word and you are not daily in prayer you need to check your commitment to the one who committed his life, even unto the death of the cross, for you.

No commitment; squish – just like grape.

-Stay Rooted Col 2.7:-

The Original Karate Kid Trailer

2010 Karate Kid Remake

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

