Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Just A Closer Walk With Thee’

June 10, 2010

Have you ever wondered why some people seem to have a closer walk or relationship with the Lord than others?  I mean there are some people who genuinely seem like they could almost walk on water they have such a deep relationship with the Lord you know?  I don’t know that I can answer that question fully, but I’m discovering in my life that my walk with the Lord gets closer the more I realize just how weak and incapable I am to live the life he has called me to live.

With the recent change in our marriage to becoming expectant parents I am daily confronted with the concerns of being a godly father.  Now let me clarify by saying that I don’t expect to be sainted before my child is born.  I simply want the reality of my relationship with the Lord to be a genuine reality to my child.  Success, failures, forgiveness, and love.

Being a husband has a great deal or responsibility and being a dad on top of that – woah!  So each morning I wake up to the reality that I am a father, a husband, and I desperately need the Lord’s help to even come close to being a faithful steward in both roles.  I’m a person of fortitude, self-motivation, initiative, and resourcefulness – but none of that will get me even to the first step of fulfilling those roles in a way that is pleasing to the Lord.  Not unless I am dependent upon the Lord.

1 I lift up my eyes to the hills– where does my help come from? 2 My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. Psalm 121:1-2

Just a closer walk with thee is my prayer to the Lord this morning.  I need his help to abide in his will, yielding to his spirit and following in his ways, in order to bring him glory.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chip permalink
    June 10, 2010 4:15 pm

    Good Stuff Tony! If you did not feel overwhelmed by all that responsibility then I’d be concerned. As you so aptly reminded us when we look to The Lord He provides what we need. I wish you and your family the best. Remember this It is always easier to keep the train on the tracks from the start than it is to clean up a train wreck. I have been trying to clean up a train wreck with a blended marriage for ten years. I love my wife and my step kids but it is very hard work trying to initiate life change. So my advice to you is make sure your train leaves the station on the right track and no matter how hard it gets do what you have to do to keep it on the tracks cause you don’t want to have to rescue your kid(s) from a train wreck.
    Hang Tuff!
    Chip

Leave a Reply

