Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘When Science Falls Short’

June 9, 2010

As I sat in the waiting room during my wife’s recent visit to the baby doctor, I thumbed through a magazine produced by American Baby titled “As Your Baby Grows – From Conception To Birth.” It contained some of the most amazing photography of fetal development I had ever seen.  I found myself intricately studying each photo.  As I began to read the articles on each page I was even more amazed because the Lord reminded me that science will always fall short at some point.  When science falls short, God the creator and designer of life still shines in all his glorious wonder.

Here is an excerpt from one of the articles I read.

This month [the 2nd month] is probably the most important for your baby’s growth.  At the beginning of the month, the ball of dividing cells, now called the embryo, gives no hint of what it will become, but each cell has begun to perform a distinct and indispensable role.  Despite all the advances in biology and genetics, no one can explain how every cell in the embryo knows what to do and what part of the body to become; that remains one of the many mysteries of how human life develops.

Amazing isn’t it?  More than 2,000 years ago King David picked up a pen and scroll and recorded the answer to this great scientific mystery.

13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise youbecause I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, 16 your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordainedfor me were written in your book before one of them came to be.  Psalm 139:13-14

God is certainly mysterious in many ways.  Much of what he does can not be understood by the finite mind of man.  Yet, at the same time he has recorded and preserved so much in the Bible for us to know about him.  If you haven’t already done so this morning, take out your Bible and read it.  Spiritual growth is impossible without feeding on the word of God.  Rejoice with David in the words of Psalm 139 this morning in knowing that we serve a God who desires to be known intimately by each one of us.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

