Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘A Field Trip To God’s Workshop’

June 8, 2010

They say no man is an island.  Unless of course you are the only man in the OBGYN office with your pregnant wife for her first doctor’s visit.  I was an island of testosterone in a sea of estrogen yesterday, let me tell you! Haha!  All reports were good, momma and baby are both healthy, and surprisingly enough I was the only one who shed a few tears during the whole visit.  I did say I was an island of testosterone, right?

As soon as the nurse turned the sonogram screen towards me I could feel the tears swelling up in my eyes.  It was officially official now, there was a bun in the oven!   I could see it with my own eyes.  There was my child, 9 weeks and 5 days old, with the little heartbeat flashing on the screen, and no more than an inch long.  (Ha!  I’m even tearing up now.  Does the estrogen level in the husband increase during pregnancy too – good grief!) With that sonogram I felt like was on a field trip to God’s workshop and had come to the spectators window that overlooked the work being done.

I’m so thankful to have the word of God.  They tell me exactly what was going on in that workshop I was able to see through the sonogram.

  • Even before my child was conceived, the Lord knew it intimately – “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you…”  Jeremiah 1:5
  • God the father is designing my child with great care and intricacy – “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made”  Psalm 139:14
  • My child is being knit together by the same hands that created the universe – “You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb”  Psalm 139:113

The verse that strikes me the most this morning comes from Paul’s letter to the Ephesians.

For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.  Ephesians 2:!0

I wasn’t there to see God hang the stars in place, to separate the water and the sky, to give the earth shape and fill its void, or to form man from dust and woman from man’s rib.  I can only read about those events in scripture.  But yesterday, I had a window into God’s workshop.  There in the womb of my wife, God was at work crafting my child.  It was truly awesome.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

6 Comments leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    June 8, 2010 8:28 am

    It must have really been awsome. I never had any kids. I wish you two all the best.

  2. Tanya permalink
    June 8, 2010 9:12 am

    Tony, this is beautiful!! You have blessed my morning and my childrens. I sit here in tears as well–beautiful.

  3. June 8, 2010 10:58 am

    Amen – we serve THE God of Wonders!

  4. Regina Goodson permalink
    June 8, 2010 4:28 pm

    Now I am crying! This was wonderfully written. Definetly need to save a hardcopy for the baby book. May God continue to bless your family.

  5. June 8, 2010 5:00 pm

    That’s a good idea Regina, I will need to start printing these off. I can already feel plenty of “baby blogs” welling up in me.

  6. deb permalink
    June 9, 2010 4:43 pm

    Can’t decide who he/she looks like—hmmm.

Leave a Reply

