Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Back to Blogging’

June 7, 2010

Greetings!  I’m back to blogging this week and it is not a moment too soon.  I guess some people would consider blogging, even in devotional form like The Journey, to be a hobby but for me it goes a little deeper than that.  In my recent break from blogging, due to a crazy packed schedule over the past week or so, I have come to realize that blogging here at The Journey is a means of planting and nurturing the seed of God’s word in my heart.

Since Christians are not made with cookie cutters, I don’t know if this will be the case for anyone else, but I know it to be true in my life.  I am weaker in my daily walk with the Lord when I am not here blogging a daily devotional.  The process of studying the word, listening to the teaching of the Holy Spirit, and forming a devotion is what makes the word stick with me.  Maybe I should rephrase that and say it is what makes me stick with the word.

I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.  Psalm 119:11

The word “hidden” basically means to store up treasure.  In fact, the NAS translation uses the word “treasured” the instead.  Imagine the effort that goes into storing a large treasure of gold, silver, and precious jewels.  The word of God is infinitely more valuable and instantly more available if it is stored correctly in our heart.

During my blogging break I noticed that my resistance to the temptations of sin was weaker.  I was quick to speak and slow to listen.  I was even more prone to dwell on thoughts that brought no glory to the Lord whatsoever.  My temper was shorter and my irritability was more sensitive.  I was more susceptible to the attacks of the enemy.  Several times I was left weak and wounded.  Even though I began each morning with my normal prayer journal routine I was not fully equipped to face the day ahead.

Now I’m not suggesting that devotional blogging is for everyone.  However, I am suggesting that the daily processing of God’s word is critically important.  Studying the word, digging for truth, listening to the Holy Spirit, searching for application, and developing a plan of immediate implementation is how the word is to be hidden in our hearts.  So, if you haven’t already done so this morning – take out your Bible and start treasuring it in your heart because you’re going to need it today.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    June 7, 2010 1:32 pm

    Tony I have really missed your devotions. Glad you did one this morning. Congratulations on you being a proud dad.

Leave a Reply

