Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Humble Yourself In The Sight Of The Lord’

May 19, 2010

Ever since I can remember, my mom and step-dad were shining examples of hard work and ambition.  I certainly didn’t appreciate it back then and probably wasn’t even aware of half of what they did to provide for our family.  Looking back, I can now see that same work ethic and ambitious drive in my life.  I don’t think I’ve quite learned how to manage it though.  I’m extremely ambitious and when that leads to success there’s a weed of pride that begins to grow in the garden of my character.  I’m thankful the Lord knows how to care for that garden.

The words of the Apostle Peter minister to my heart this morning as he gives instruction to young men of the faith.

5 Young men, in the same way be submissive to those who are older. All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” 6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  1 Peter 5:5-7

I think there’s something inside every man’s nature that drives him to succeed and conquer.  I mean, part of our purpose in being created was to rule as God’s vice-regents here on earth.  I believe part of that original purpose resonates deep within us today. Yet, even ambition and hard work are not as valuable as patience when it comes to the ways of the Lord.  Yes the Lord rewards hard work and I believe he even rewards the ambition to do His will, but not without a measure of patience.  There’s no corporate ladder to climb when it comes to the work of the kingdom of Christ.  There’s not even a corporate ladder to climb when it comes to the body of Christ.  The Pastor is no more glorious a position in the body than the janitor.  They are both servants of the most high God.  Sure their responsibilities are different, but that does not equate to a value of their significance to the Lord.

Reminding myself of these things is how the Lord helps to remove the pride weeds in the garden of my character.

Humble thyself in the sight of the Lord, and He shall lift you up!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    May 19, 2010 10:39 am

    beautiful beautiful. Who is the people singing this?

Leave a Reply

