Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘How Soon We Forget’

May 17, 2010

I heard someone say recently that their forgetter’s getting better while their rememberer’s getting worse.  The other day someone else told me that I should expect my wife’s pregnancy to have an affect on her ability to remember things as well.  They also told me that was something I should not point out to her if I wanted to survive the pregnancy. Haha!  I think we all forget more often than we realize, especially when it comes to the trustworthiness of God.

How often have you come to the Lord, on the tail of an answered prayer, struggling to let go of another burden?  There’s just a small voice inside your head telling you that you need to make things happen in this area yourself before you bring it to God.  He’s your last resort once you’ve exhausted your own resources, right?  Wrong.  Oh how soon we forget.

What we forget are the countless times God has answered our own prayers and the overwhelming evidence of his abilities in his word.  We forget the endless testimony of the trustworthiness of God.  Forgetting that causes us to be reluctant in letting go of our burdens, our worries, and our troubles.  We feel like the only person we can trust to see them through and work them out is ourselves.  We become independent from the Lord rather than dependent on the Lord.

During my prayer journal time this morning I read through Psalm 77 and the word of the Lord ministered to my heart.  There are a few situations in my life that I have concerns over.  Ok, who am I kidding, my wife is pregnant – there are A LOT of situations in my life and in our future that I have concerns over.  I’ll even admit to being worried over several of them.  But, there are only two choices for me at this point.  I can bear the burden’s myself and take matters into my own hands to work things out, or I can carry them to my Father and let Him guide me through the rest of the way.  It’s a no brainer right?  How soon we forget though.  I found myself this morning coming face to face with one question – “Do you trust me Tony?”  I had to be honest and say I was struggling to let go of a few things.  That’s when the Lord so graciously provided a reality check for me through power of his written word.

I will remember the deeds of the LORD; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.  I will meditate on all your works and consider all your mighty deeds.  Psalm 77-11-12

Here’s a very real conversation that I often have with myself as a means of getting back on track when my train of faith starts to derail.

“Did God really speak all things into existence?”

“Yes, yes He did.”

“Did God really make bread fall from heaven to feed the Israelites?”

“Absolutely.”

“Did Jesus walk on water, feed 5,000, and heal people?”

“Of course he did.”

“Did Jesus really say, ‘seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well?”

“Yeah, I believe he did.”

“Then don’t you think He’s capable of taking care of this burden you’ve got a death grip on?”

“Yes.”

Remind yourself of the mighty works of the Lord.  Those that are described in his word page after page and those you can testify to first-hand in your life.  Meditate on his works and consider his mighty deeds today.  He alone is trustworthy.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    May 17, 2010 10:41 am

    Jesus can perform many miracles in our lives. We just have to go to him and pray.

Leave a Reply

