Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Fatherhood’

May 12, 2010

Do you know the feeling of excitement that comes over you when you’re reading a good book as one chapter comes to a close and you know you’re almost into the next one?  Well, multiply that feeling by about a billion and you’ll feel like I do this morning.  I’M GOING TO BE A DADDY!

My wife and I are expecting our first child and we are still in shell shock.  We are excited and nervous and all other emotions in between, but one thing is for sure – what a blessing from God.  It didn’t take long for my mind to do a reality check once we found out.  Almost immediately I felt the weight of Fatherhood set in.  It’s a good weight, but it’s a heavy weight.

The visible testimony of my life has now become more important than at any other point in my life.  In 9 months my child will begin to mimic my wife and I in all things, both good and bad.  We found out last night that even though our child is only a few weeks old in the womb, the eye color, hair color, and certain personality traits have already been formed.  Can you believe that?  In writing that, something else just came to mind and that is the fact that the sin nature for my child is already formed.  Tears come to my eyes when I think about that.  I have already started to pray for my child’s salvation.

I consider it a glorious honor to enter into this new chapter of my life and my grip on the word and the hand of my savior, my heavenly Father, is even tighter.  I am reminded of the responsibility of the father from the scriptures this morning.

Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.  Ephesians 6:5

Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.  Proverbs 22:6

In this new role and in these new responsibilities my grip on the word of God is of the utmost importance.

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. 2 Timothy 3:16-17

A legacy has begun in my family and I pray it is a legacy of faith that brings glory and honor to the Heavenly Father.

I am humbled by the life-giving power of the Lord God Almighty.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

5 Comments leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:07 am

    Congratulations Tony to you and Leanne.

  2. Michelle Estes permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:36 am

    Congratulations! We are so happy and excited for you. You and Leigh Ann will make such good parents. 🙂

  3. susan hubbard permalink
    May 13, 2010 9:10 am

    these little ones are a marvelous blessing from God and are on loan to us to bring to Christ! He has chosen a special couple for this job….congrats!!

  4. May 13, 2010 9:29 am

    Thank you so much Susan!

Leave a Reply

