Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Created and Called to Work’

May 10, 2010

I would say that most people look at me as sort of a techy kind of guy since I work with computers a lot.  They’d probably be surprised to find out that I’m more comfortable in an old pair of jeans, work boots, and with dirt on my t-shirt than I am in the computer lab.  I like to work.  I like to accomplish things.  I look for opportunities to make a difference.  I find satisfaction and meaning when I do those things.  Why?  Well, because I’m a man and that’s what I was created and called to do.  Work.

This past Saturday I was over at my father-in-law’s place mowing lawns and weed-eating and I remember feeling satisfied several times that day.  Satisfied in the sense that I felt like I was fulfilling my purpose.  At one point, as I was traveling to the school to weed-eat a bit before the day was done, I was driving my father-in-laws pickup truck with the windows down and some bluegrass playing and I truly thought “I doesn’t get much better than this!”  I know, I’m weird.  It doesn’t take much to please me that’s for sure.

Yesterday morning Pastor Terry mentioned that a man’s desire to work has been part of his being since his creation.  Adam was given the task to work the earth and tend the garden even before sin entered the world.  After sin, work became hard and laborious, lacking a complete joy.  Yet even today, most men are driven to work.  I know I am.  In fact, it’s more natural for me to work than it is for me to relax.

Adam named all of the animals and he was assigned the task of managing them. Men are often criticized for being so driven in their work, yet men were created to work. They were given a mind and a body that enables them to work and therefore when a man works, he is in a sense fulfilling a part of the reason he was created. Now that’s not to say that men should become ‘workaholics.’ God did not intend for us to put our work before our family or our relationship with Him, yet to work and to be productive is a part of a man’s nature.  Pastor Terry – Sunday Sermon 5.9.10

Even though work is tainted by sin, I believe there is still a sense of joy  and purpose in it for man.

By the seat of your brow you will eat your food until you return to the ground, since from it you were taken; for dust you are and to dust you will return.  Genesis 3:19

Saturday I spent almost 12 hours outside working and I loved every minute of it.  I was covered in dirt, my boots were green from the grass, and I smelled like sweat and gasoline.  It doesn’t get much better than that!  I’ve been created to work, I’ve been called to work, and therein I find purpose and draw close to my creator.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen Rutrough permalink
    May 10, 2010 8:22 pm

    We’re so glad you enjoy working and working here to help us out! Thanks so much for all you do for us! Gary says you can feel close to the Lord by working any time you want to help out! Love you.

Leave a Reply

