Skip to content

::Devotional::’Gaining Perspective’

May 5, 2010

One of the definitions for perspective provided by Dictionary.com says it is, “The faculty of seeing all the relevant data in a meaningful relationship.”  I remember a commercial from when I was younger that advertised a powerful laundry detergent, “A-L-L, that’s all, the stain lifter that’s ALL.”  But in this case “all” is much more than a stain lifter, it’s a major variable in gaining perspective.

“Seeing all” means seeing all, which is something I am unable to do in my most meaningful relationship. My relationship with the Lord Jesus.  Over the last few days and even in the last 24 hours I’ve had to go to God’s word to get insight into His perspective on things in my life.  What a mess things would be if I didn’t have that resource available to me.  What a mess things would be if I acted solely from my own perspective.  To think that I would “see all the relevant data” is foolishness, but knowing God sees all of the relevant data and more is not.

One of my favorite passages of scripture on perspective is Proverbs 3:5-6.  Despite all that I can see and all that I may know, there is a lot that I will never understand.  In my lack of understanding I am not excused from trusting and obey the Lord in faith.  Remember, he sees all the relevant data in a meaningful relationship.  He’s got the right perspective.  Why wouldn’t I trust Him?

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; 6 in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.  Proverbs 3:5-6

Seek the perspective of the Lord today and find the peace that only He can provide.  Trust and obey, for there’s no other way, to be happy in Jesus but to trust and obey.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    May 5, 2010 8:52 am

    I like the guy that is singing this song. A very good devotion.

Leave a Reply

