Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Taking The High Road’

May 4, 2010

Sometimes it’s difficult to tell if you have matured much in Christ.  It seems like a hard thing to measure doesn’t it?  Growing in Christ is not like growing taller or losing weight, but more like reaching a point  age you no longer need the bedroom door open and the hall light on because you are scared of the dark.  Recently for me I experienced an urge to take the high road rather than quarrel over right and wrong on a particular issue.  I was even surprised at myself.

Over the weekend I discovered a situation that brought my blood to a boiling point.  I’ll have to say that my first reaction was the thought of confrontation, but very soon afterwards my reaction changed.  I knew I was in the right in the situation and confrontation would have pointed that out for sure. But there was a cost.  After much thought and prayer the Lord helped me to see that there was literally nothing positive that could come out of a confrontation in this situation.  In fact, rather than even addressing the issue at all the Lord helped me to understand that sometimes in life it’s better to just let things lie and move on.  Take the high road.

Scripture declares our need to be forgiven as well as to forgive.  I don’t know where the other party in this situation stands with the Lord, but that has no bearing on what the Bible calls me to do.

Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.  Ephesians 4:32

Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.  Colossians 3:13

I was a kid who was terrified of the dark.  The bedroom door always had to be open and the hall bath light had to be on or I couldn’t sleep.  Then, one day, I turned out the lights and closed the door and have been sleeping in the dark ever since.  I realized this weekend that the Lord is helping me to mature in a very similar way.  He’s helping me to see that more often than not, it’s better to take the high road and forgive.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. Helen Rutrough permalink
    May 4, 2010 5:34 pm

    I’m SO proud of you! I know it was tough in that particular situation but you gave God the glory! Praise Him!

Leave a Reply

