Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Happy 2nd Anniversary’

May 3, 2010

Today I am celebrating my two year wedding anniversary.  My wife and I have commented several times in the past two days about just how fast these first two years have gone by.  Sometimes it feels like the wedding was just a few months ago.  However, in the two years we’ve been married we’ve gone through a lot.  I want to celebrate the Lord’s gracious and merciful hand in this morning’s devotional as He has been with us every step of the way.

Here are some of the things the Lord has led us through over the last two years.

  • Getting married

    Happy Anniversary To My Precious Little Wife

  • Moving to a new apartment
  • Packing up our new apartment
  • Leaving our church and our youth ministry
  • Moving to Northern Virginia to care for my sick father
  • 3 straight months with no jobs
  • Moving into a rental house with my dad
  • Countless doctor appointments and emergency room visits
  • Starting new jobs
  • Finding a new church
  • Dealing with finances, both ours and my father’s
  • Packing up and moving back to an apartment in Ferrum
  • Starting new jobs again at CHA
  • Returning to our church
  • The passing of my wife’s grandfather
  • The birth of my brother-in-law’s first child
  • Introducing and teaching a new class on Bible study at our church, for 12 weeks
  • A major fundraising banquet at CHA
  • Serving on the Strategic Planning Committee at CHA
  • and everything else in between all the rest.

Through it all there have been two constants.  One, the Lord has been with us.  The Bible never promises an easy road for Christians and we’ve experienced many bumps over the past two years.  We have done our best to seek the refuge of the Lord and we are thankful that He has protected us.

Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me, for in you my soul takes refuge.  I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed.  Psalm 57:1

The second constant has been my unwavering wife by my side the whole time.  There’s no substitute for the confidence I have in my partner, my companion, my wife.

A wife of noble character who can find?  She is worth far more than rubies.  Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.  Proverbs 31:10-11

I look forward to many more years of experiencing God with my wife by my side.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    May 3, 2010 8:46 am

    Happy Anniversary Tony. You sure did do alot of adjusting in your 2 years you were married. Good picture of you and your wife.

  2. Helen Rutrough permalink
    May 4, 2010 2:49 pm

    No doubt about it. God has been good! If we believe He’s in control when we’re on the mountain top then we must also believe He’s in control when we’re in the valley. Congratulations on two years and counting! Love you.

Leave a Reply

