Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Tithing Your Time’

April 30, 2010

Understanding and implementing the biblical tithe in my life was a big obstacle for me several years ago.  Long story short, I really was faced with the decision to buy groceries or tithe to the Lord and by faith I stepped out and in faith the Lord provided.  Ever since, I have not struggled with giving the Lord my financial first fruits.  But finances are not the only major resource in our lives.  Time is perhaps an even greater and non-renewable resource.  I believe like our finances we must bring the first fruits of our time to the Lord as well.

I’ll be the first to agree that the Lord is not after quantity but quality.  I’ll also be the first to agree that one, high quality peanut m&m, is never enough.  Especially for me, they are one of my favorite candies.  My point is that yes the Lord is more concerned with the quality of the time we spend with him than with the quantity, but that doesn’t mean a one-minute read through a Bible passage cuts the mustard.  Even if we really were intentional in seeking him for that one minute.

Let’s get right down to it and crunch some numbers.  What would our lives look like if we honestly tithed time out of our 24 hour day?  That’s 2.4 hours we need to give back to the Lord, so let’s round up to 2.5.  Now, I’m not trying to sound legalistic, just literally realistic in the light of the word of the Lord.

Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.  Malachi 3:10

Do we actually have 2.5 hours in the day to give to the Lord?  Can we afford that?  Maybe the better question is, can we afford not to give those 2.5 hours to the Lord?  Now, you’re probably thinking that I’m suggesting 2.5 hours of Bible study a day, but I’m not.  I’m suggesting that we offer a focused heart on the Lord and the things of his word throughout the day.

Think about it.  A time of prayer, a time of devotional reading, a time of admiration of the Lord as your watching the sun rise or set on the way to and from work.  A time of discussion about the Lord activity in your life to your co-workers, a time of listening to what the Lord is doing in other peoples lives.  A time of wonder and awe at the limitless power of the Lord and his sovereignty of all.  A time of thankfulness for what the Lord has provided for you, and a time of giving to others in the name of the Lord.  A time of studying and memorizing the scriptures, and a time of teaching what you’ve learned.  There are all kinds of ways we can fill those 2.5 hours a day, but only if our heart and our focus is on the Lord.

Increase your time tithe today and see if the Lord throws open the floodgates of heaven and pours out his abundant blessings upon you.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gilda Woods permalink
    April 30, 2010 3:12 pm

    Wow! AND Ouch! This was a good one and so very true!

  2. susan hubbard permalink
    May 1, 2010 8:09 am

    i love this….thanks!

  3. May 1, 2010 8:16 am

    You know what’s amazing to me? The freedom we can experience when we let go of the death grip on our finances and our time. I’m not talking irresponsibility but I’m talking priority; literally putting God first. I think those are two major steps into the abundant life of Christ.

Leave a Reply

