Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘I want …’

April 21, 2010

Maybe I’m going to find out through this devotion that I’m the odd man out but I’m going in with an optimistic attitude thinking I’m not.  What would  you put in … above?  What is it that you want?  Now I’m not talking about world peace, a better marriage, or things like that.  I’m focused on something uncomfortably specific.  I’m talking little boy in the toy store type want if you know what I mean.  What is it that you want?

For me, I think the overwhelming want right now is a truck.  No, not a toy truck but a real truck.  I’ve owned two Dodges in my life, a Dakota and a RAM 1500 and I loved both of them.  I miss both of them.  I want a truck and I’m saving my nickels and dimes.  It’s a big desire in my life right now and gets a lot of time in my thoughts.  That makes it a struggle for me as a Christian.  I struggle with my wants.  Do you?

I’ll tell you, it is the most hard for me when I see other folks my age getting new things.  Maybe a new house, maybe a new TV, maybe even a new truck.  Now, I don’t know their personal lives and I don’t know their financial situations, but I just know that it seems unfair.  I work just as hard and maybe even harder you know?  Like I said, I struggle with my wants.  Especially when I see other people getting what they want.  The thoughts and emotions are there and I know they are wrong, that’s what makes it a struggle.

So what’s a man to do right?  Well, the only thing I know to do is to constantly (and I do me constantly) remind myself of the reality of the situation through the perspective of the Bible.  After all, I am a Christian and therefore I need to filter my experiences, situations, and emotions through the scriptures of God’s word.  That way some of the sin in my life gets taken out.

So here’s what I reminding myself this morning.

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.  Matthew 6:19-21

The proper perspective brings me peace, even if only for a while before I have to remind myself again.  I’ve got my shoulder to the wheel and I’m working hard to disciple and be discipled.  My work is being rewarded not only here on earth with many blessings but with treasures in heaven that are being marked with  my name on them.  A truck would be great, but for the moment I’ve pinned that thought to the mat.  The struggle is over.  The match is done.

What want are you struggling with today?  Are you allowing it to consume your thoughts?  Maybe even dictate your actions?  Or worse, is it driving your decisions?  Remind yourself of the proper perspective today through God’s Word.  Be constant and consistent because the thoughts, desires, wants, and struggles will return soon.  Be ready to wrestle with them again.  Just know that you can win the match when you align yourself with the truths of God’s Word and submit to its authority.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:8-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

