Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Oh how easily I am fooled’

April 20, 2010

I’d consider myself a pretty observant person.  At 30 years old I’m not under the impression that I’ve seen it all, but nevertheless I can pickup on a lot of things.  But life is funny.  This week I realized just how easily I am fooled.  What fooled me?  Well, I’d like to describe something impressive here but unfortunately I was fooled by a small Killdeer bird in the parking lot behind our school gym.

I never knew what a Killdeer bird was before this week and now that I do I’m sure I’ll never forget it.  I pulled into the parking lot the other evening and this small bird with tiny long legs was scampering around the parking lot and calling like an American Idol reject all over the place.  I stood there for a minute and watched it and noticed that one of its wings seemed to be broken because it was dragging along the ground.  My plan was to catch the bird and bring it to our biology teacher who could nurse it back to health with her class.  Here’s where things got interesting.

The bird was only about 6ft or so in front of me and facing the opposite direction.  Perfect for sneaking up on it right?  Wrong.  I took about two steps and the bird scurried another 2ft.  I’m thought to myself that the poor bird was scared to death and this task was going to take a lot of patience on my part.  So round two.  I took two steps and the bird scurries 2ft, wing still dragging on the ground.  So we played this game for a few minutes and just about the time I got close enough to reach down and grab it, the broken wing magically healed and the bird took off into the air.  If life had a soundtrack, they would have played Mr. Mister’s “Broken Wings” at that point.  “So take, these broken wings, and learn to fly again, learn to live so free.”

So there I am, fooled by a bird with a brain no bigger than a peanut.  Who’s the real bird-brain now right?  Well, my folly gets even better.  Come to find out, this little parking lot ballet I had been part of was actually a protective instinct of the bird.  Not to protect itself but to protect its nest and eggs.  Apparently I pulled up right in front of the gravel ground nest of this Killdeer bird and it was afraid that I was going to attack its nest.  A Killdeer will act as a decoy to lure predators away from the nest.  How?  By pretending like it has a broken wing and slowly but surely, little by little, it is able to lure the predator far away from the nest before flying off into the air again.  Again, I was totally oblivious to this whole process during my parking lot prance with this bird.

Maybe I’m not such an observant person, but that’s not the point I’m trying to illustrate.  My point is that we are easily fooled.  Ok, maybe you aren’t as easily fooled as I was with this bird, but the Bible tells us that if we’re not careful we can be easily deceived.  It is so easy to get off track and be led away from the Lord little by little.  It’s what comes natural to us because it’s part of our sin nature.

But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ.  2 Corinthians 11:3

Today, the biggest Killdeer for Christians is the diluted and distorted perspective of the divinity, authority, and absoluteness of Jesus Christ.  Some are led away by believing that salvation is Jesus plus any number of other things.  Others are led away by believing that the Christian life can be lived apart from God’s word and a daily relationship with Jesus Christ.  Still others are led away by believing that they’ve got everything under control and they’ll be sure to call on Jesus the next time they’re in trouble.  The list goes on, but hopefully you see my point.

You and I woke up this morning because the Lord allowed us to.  We would be foolish to think that somehow we were not dependent on Him.  Don’t be lead away from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ.  Return to your first love and speak with Him today.  Refocus your life through the study of God’s word and submission to the Lordship of Jesus Christ.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat Turner permalink
    April 20, 2010 8:02 am

    I am glad the killbird was ok. That was a miracle that its broken wing healed.

  2. Christina permalink
    April 20, 2010 5:19 pm

    Love it Tony! So true.

  3. Kathy permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:05 am

    Watching those birds do that is like watching love in action. They are doing what they can to protect their great treasure. They love those 4 gravel look-a-like eggs, before they have even seen their offspring.
    How do I protect and guard the valuable things the Lord has entrusted to me? I am not very viligant at times….those mother and father birds are always there, always guarding.

Leave a Reply

