Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Who should I make the check out to?’

April 19, 2010

Is it truly more blessed to give than to receive?  I guess that depends on the perspective of the giver, but those who give out of a cheerful heart really do receive a blessing.  There’s something morally right when it comes to selflessly giving to meet the needs of someone else.  It’s kind of like your favorite pair of jeans, it just fits.

During Sunday School yesterday our teacher had us examine 2 Corinthians 9:6-12.  The gist of the passage is summed up in the first few verses.

Remember this:  Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously.  Each man should give what he has decided in his hart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.  And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.  2 Corinthians 9:6-8

So I sow to sow and not to reap but because I sow, so I reap.  That pretty much sums it up and that’s a great deal when you think about it.  Everything I have and everything I own comes from the Lord.  When I signed up for salvation I signed over total ownership to my life.  Now, I’m no longer an owner but a steward – a manager of what the Lord owns and has allowed me to manage.  The biggest resources I manage are time and money.  I wish I was better with both, but I try nevertheless.  I discovered a great deal of freedom in my life when I realized I didn’t own these resources and therefore didn’t have the final say in how they were spent. It sort of take a lot of the worry out of the equation.

Later in the passage Paul wrote something simple and profound.  (Sounds like something Paul would do right?)  My cheerful giving and stewardship is rewarded with something greater than trophies, accolades, applause, or even money.

Because of the service by which you have proved yourselves, men will praise God for the obedience that accompanies your confession of the gospel of Christ, and for your generosity in sharing with them and with everyone else.  And in their prayers for you their hearts will go out to you, because of the surpassing grace God has given you.  2 Corinthians 9:13-14

Did you catch that?  Because of cheerful and selfless giving of what God has allowed me to use to meet the needs of other people, they will in turn pray for me.  They don’t try to pay me back.  They don’t have to owe me.  They simply pray for me.  But prayer is profound.  As a matter of fact, I’ll take someone saying “Thanks for helping me, how can I pray for you” over “Thanks for helping me, who should I make the check out to” any day.

God is a gracious and bountiful giver and as stewards of his property and resources we should act accordingly on his behalf.  How can you give today?  Are you willing to give today?  Remember, you are only a steward and not the owner.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pat Turner permalink
    April 19, 2010 9:58 am

    very good devotion Tony.

Leave a Reply

