Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘I’d like to buy a Vow’

April 15, 2010

Part of my morning routine is writing in my prayer journal.  I guess to be accurate I should say typing in my prayer journal.  I’m a product of the digital generation and I do my prayer journal with my laptop.  I read a psalm each morning and begin my prayer journal entry with a verse or two from that particular psalm for the day.  I’d like to share today’s selection with you.

I am under vows to you, O God; I will present my thank offerings to you.  For you have delivered me from death and my feet from stumbling, that I may walk before God in the light of life.  Psalm 56:12-13

According to my study Bible and a few commentaries I read this morning this psalm was written by David after he had been seized by the Philistines in Gath.  Like David, many of us have faced difficult circumstances and cried out to God for help from on high.  And like David, God has delivered many us through those difficult circumstances.  He has fulfilled His part of the equation but what about us?

It’s always interesting to see just how spiritually focused we are in times of trouble.  We have time to pray, to read the word, to memorize scripture – they are top priority.  Often times we will even begin to make deals with God.  If he would only fix our problem we promise to __________. (fill in the blank)  David wrote that he was to make good on his vows by presenting his thank offerings to God because God had delivered him from death.  So often it is easy for us to pray for God to move and when he answers that prayer by moving or not moving, we forget to thank him.  God delivers 100% of the time but our performance average isn’t so hot.

Jesus has some advice on vows that I think is worth noting at this point.

“Again, you have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘Do not break your oath, but keep the oaths you have made to the Lord.’ 34 But I tell you, Do not swear at all: either by heaven, for it is God’s throne; 35 or by the earth, for it is his footstool; or by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the Great King. 36 And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black. 37 Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.  Matthew 5:33-37

What has the Lord done in your life recently that you may have forgotten to thank Him for?  Are your prayers as fervent outside of trouble as they are inside?  Take some time to day to reflect on the recent days, weeks, months, and even years and lift up your thanks through prayer for what God has done.  In the future, keep in mind that we should avoid those “in-danger deals” with the Lord and simply let your yes be yes and your no be no.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

