Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Can’t Buy Me Love’

March 30, 2010

In 1964, The Beatles released “Can’t Buy Me Love” which would sit at the top of the charts week after week and go on to become one of their greatest hits.  With lyrics like “I’ll get you anything my friend if it makes you feel alright” and “I’ll give you all I got to give if you say you love me too”, Paul McCartney captured one of man’s greatest ambitions and failures – the attempt to buy love.

I guess you wouldn’t typically look in a Beatles’ song for eternal truth to write a devotion on, but nevertheless it’s in there.  The Bible reminds us that no matter what wealth and treasure we are able to build up during our lifetime it will not go with us to the grave.  Job said “Naked I came from my mother’s womb and naked I will depart.” (Job 1:21)

Do not be overawed when a man grows rich, when the splendor of his house increases; for he will take nothing with him when he dies, his splendor will not descend with him.  Psalm 49:16-17

The Bible also tells us that no amount of money or wealth could redeem us, or buy us back, from our slavery to sin.

No man can redeem the life of another or give to God a ransom for him – the ransom for a life is costly, no payment is ever enough Psalm 49:7-8

Through Jesus’ death on the cross my sins were forgiven and my soul redeemed from sin.  Through His resurrection He prepared the way for me to live on long after death.  No longer do I need to fear the grave because it is not my final destination.

But God will redeem my life from the grave; he will surely take me to himself.  Psalm 49:15

McCartney got it right when he wrote “I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love.”  The Bible says God’s love for me comes because He’s full of mercy and grace and not by anything I have done to earn it.  It is by His grace through faith in Him that I am loved and redeemed.  Glory to God!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat turner permalink
    March 30, 2010 10:10 am

    That is one of the Beatles good songs.

Leave a Reply

