Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘When Good Intentions Go Bad’

March 24, 2010

The alarm clock rings and after several taps on the snooze button I finally slip out of bed to start my day.  It’s somewhere around 4:30 am when I begin my morning routine of a shower, some breakfast, and Bible study.  It is a new day, a fresh start, and things are going good.  Many mornings I even wake up with a praise and worship song flowing through my head.  I am confident in saying that even the intentions of my heart are set on the good things of the Lord most every morning.  Then it happens.  Somewhere along the course of the day my good intentions go bad.

I’d love to say that every day is a victorious day in my life where I’ve lived out the love of Christ and brought glory and honor to His name.  Unfortunately, that is not the case for me.  Somewhere along the way as the day progresses my flesh will get the best of me and my good intentions go bad resulting in sin.  Whether the sin is in my thoughts or in my actions it is not pleasing to the Lord.  It is a battle that I engage in each day.  I’m thankful that I’m not the only one.

So I find this law at work:  When I want to do good, evil is right there with me.  For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members.  What a wretched man I am!  Who will rescue me from this body of death?  Romans 7:22-24

Apparently the Apostle Paul struggled with good intentions going bad as well.  In fact, the way he said it is often how I feel – a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members.  How wretched a man am I to become a slave to my own body.  Like Paul, I look to be rescued from this body of death.  But by who?

Thanks be to God – through Jesus Christ our Lord!  Romans 7:25

That’s right!  I’m reminded that Jesus has already rescued me from sin and that through His perfect blood I am declared righteous before the throne of God forever.  But what about the horrible shame I feel when my good intentions go bad? Well, the Lord has even provided a way for me to shed that burden of sin on a daily basis.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgives us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  1 John 1:9

God is so amazing.  Even when my good intentions of bringing Him glory and honor through my life go bad, He can still receive glory and honor through forgiving me of my sins.  Take courage in His Word today and trust Him to keep His promise.  When your good intentions go bad, confess them to the Lord.  Seek His forgiveness and glorify His name.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

