Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Holy Spirit – The Intercessor’

March 17, 2010

Several years ago I was riding down the road and came across a radio program that was discussing the power of praying on behalf of someone else.  It’s called intercessory prayer.  To this day I don’t know the man’s name but what he said on the radio that day has stuck with me ever since.  In fact, it is written in my Bible.  He said, “if I could hear Jesus praying for me in the next room I would stand confidently before a thousand armies.”  One of the roles of the Holy Spirit is to communicate with the Father in and amongst our prayers on our behalf.  He is the intercessor.

When I heard that quote on the radio I immediately turned to Psalm 3:3 and wrote the quote down about that verse.

But you are a shield around me, O LORD; you bestow glory on me and lift my head.  Psalm 3:3

The Need To Intercede

If you have ever spent much time in prayer at all I’m sure you’ve come across those times where you’ve felt like you had a direct line of connection to the ear of the Father right?  Your prayers were simply effective.  I’m sure you’ve also come across times where you’ve felt like your prayers were falling flat on the ground and not even you were listening to yourself.  Not to mention the times where what you’re dealing with is so difficult it’s hard for you to even breathe let alone pray.  That’s why there is a need to intercede.  Many times we can depend on our closest friends, our family, and especially our church family to pray on our behalf.  However, nobody prays for us like the Holy Spirit.

The Intercessor

Paul wrote to the Romans and told them that the Holy Spirit is able to help us in our weakness and intercede on our behalf with the Father.

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness.  We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.  Romans 8:26

I was interested in the word “groans” in that passage and when I looked it up my concordance said that Greek word was “Stenagmos” which simply means to groan or sigh.  However, doesn’t it appear similar to the word “Stenography” in english?  I believe that’s because one can be traced back to the other.  Stenography is the art of writing in shorthand which is a way of simplifying communication.  Most often we hear the term shorthand used when referring to a particular style of fast note taking.  It is an effective way to get straight to the point with no fluff.

That makes a lot of sense in the context of the Holy Spirit interceding for us doesn’t it?  The Holy Spirit communicates in some form of spiritual shorthand that gets right to the point of our needs with no fluff before the Father.  What’s even better is that the scripture says the Holy Spirit’s prayers are always in accordance with God’s will. (something I constantly ask myself about my prayers)

And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.  Romans 8:27

God is so good to us isn’t he?  He knew we needed a savior so he sent us his only begotten son.  He knew we needed an intercessor so he sent us his very spirit.  Praise him today in your prayers and be thankful the Holy Spirit intercedes on your behalf; always in accordance with God’s will.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

