Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Useless Christians’

February 22, 2010

Nobody likes indecision.  Taking a permanent position “on the fence” is like taking a permanent position against the causes on either side.  It is a position of uselessness and it is a danger to many Christians.  In fact, I would say it is probably one of the greatest attacks from the evil one on Christians.  If Satan doesn’t prevent someone from becoming a Christian, the next best thing he can do is make them useless to their cause.

As Jesus briefed his disciples, before their ministry together began, he instructed them on the importance of their usefulness and influence in his ministry to the world.  He said they were the salt of the earth and the light of the world and emphasized both as having a proper usefulness.

You are the salt of the earth.  But if the salt loses its saltines, how can it be made salty again?  It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men.  Matthew 5:13

You are the light of the world.  A city on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl.  Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.  Matthew 5:14-16

Jesus said the salt was meant to be salty and the light was meant to shine, and he warned that anything short of those purposes was useless.  Salt that wasn’t salty was “no longer good for anything.” Light “under a bowl” was useless because it prevented everyone in the house from being able to see.

Along these same lines, in the book of Revelation, Jesus wrote to the church of Laodicea and scolded them for their indecision and uselessness.

I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot.  I wish you were either one or the other!  So, because you are luke-warm – neither hot nor cold – I am about to spit you out of my mouth. Revelation 3:15-16

As I said before, I believe one of Satan’s greatest attacks on someone once they become a Christian is to deceive them to the point of being useless for the cause and kingdom of Christ.  To make them useless Christians.  Maybe they forgo their study of God’s word, maybe they stop going to church, maybe they don’t pray – or maybe they just stop being purposeful about their lives as Christians.  There is hope, but they have to come off the fence to get it.

Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline.  So be earnest, and repent.  Here I am!  I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.  To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne. Revelation 3:19-21

I don’t know about you, but I would rather take a seat on the throne with Jesus than I would on the fence of useless.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat Turner permalink
    February 22, 2010 9:01 am

    I agree with you Tony. Some Christians turn away from God.

  2. February 22, 2010 10:39 am

    Some turn away for sure and depending on how permanent that turn is – I’d question if they ever really “turned toward” him in the first place. I have found, in my own life included, that what causes the most ‘uselessness’ is simply a lack of purposeful determination to try. Auto-pilot might be a tremndous benefit to pilots but it charts a direct course to uselessness for Christians.

Leave a Reply

