Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘God’s Greatness’

February 19, 2010

Some mornings as I sit down to my devotional time I really have to search the scriptures to find something to meditate and then write about.  Other mornings, like this morning, it’s as if the Lord laid out the outline on a piece of paper and tucked it in my Bible to mark the passage I needed to focus on.  Lately I’ve been in awe of the greatness of God.  In my devotion the other day, Master of the Universe, God had just blown me away by the sheer magnitude of his power and his greatness.  As I’m still floating on the ripples of that revelation, I was drawn back to Psalm 19 this morning and God emphasized his greatness once again.

Psalm 19 is an interesting Psalm because it is clearly divided into three parts.  Three completely different points of focus yet each one declares the greatness of God.  Let me show you.

God’s Great Power

In verses 1-6, the psalmist David, wrote about the power that God displays through the creation and existence of the Universe.  This is a power that I can’t fathom.  I have tried to wrap my  mind around the endless expanse of the Universe and all it contains, and each time I come to a point of paralyzing amazement where I can do nothing more than begin to praise God.  If the Universe could speak audible words I believe we’d hear the deafening shouts of “GOD IS GLORIOUS AND POWERFUL, LOOK AT WHAT HE HAS CREATED!!!!”

The heavens declare the glory of God the skies proclaim the work of his hands.  Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.  Psalm 19:1 & 4

God has chosen to reveal himself to us through nature.

God’s Great Word

In verses 7-11, David wrote about the word of the Lord which God has so miraculously inspired and preserved for the benefit of His people.  David described God’s word as perfect, trustworthy, right, radiant, pure, sure, precious, and sweet.  The main focus of the word of God is Jesus Christ.  Everything contained between its covers declares the need of sinful man of a sinless redeemer, Jesus Christ.  The plot is salvation, the protagonist is Jesus Christ, and the antagonist is sin.  Praise God the book ends in eternal victory!

The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul.  The statues of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple.  they are more precious than gold, than much pure gold; they are sweeter than honey, than honey from the comb.  Psalm 19:7 & 10

God has chosen to reveal himself to us through His word.

God’s Great Forgiveness

In verse 12-14, David wrote about the amazing grace we experience in the forgiveness of the Lord.  The expanse of God’s forgiveness of my sins is just as mind-blowing to me as the sheer power of God displayed in the Universe.  I believe I could somewhat grasp God’s forgiveness of my sins that I am aware of and bring before Him to confess.  However, David also wrote about God’s forgiveness of man’s hidden sins, the sins a man is unaware of committing.  How great a forgiveness is that?  That God would forgive me for things that I don’t even know that I do!  Only by the blood of Jesus.  Praise God!

Who can discern his errors?  Forgive my hidden faults.  Kep your servant also from willful sins’ may they not rule over me.  then will I be blameless, innocent of great transgression.  Psalm 19:12-13

God has chosen to reveal himself to us through His forgiveness.

One thing that strikes me about Psalm 19 is that these proclamations of God’s greatness are of equal value.  God’s revelation through the Universe, His word, and His forgiveness are equally powerful.  I can only imagine the thoughts that were going through David’s mind as he penned this psalm.  Perhaps he felt like I do right now – amazed and unworthy.

As we encounter the events of our day, let’s remember the final words David wrote in this psalm – in the wake of God’s greatness:  “May the words of my mouth and meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.”  Psalm 19:14

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen Rutrough permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:57 pm

    Tony:
    You have a wonderful way with words and putting in print how God is working in your life and the things He reveals to you in His word. You make me excited about the things of God by sharing how He is working and manifesting Himself in your life! He has given you a wonderful gift and you bless me richly through it.

    • February 19, 2010 4:57 pm

      Thanks Helen! God is amazing and there are days where I truly would love nothing more than to sit at the feet of His word and listen. I am just like you. I get excited when I hear what God is doing and how He is moving in the lives of other Christians. His movement moves me. Thank you for taking the time out to visit the blog!

  2. Pat Turner permalink
    February 19, 2010 4:29 pm

    Tony I love your devotion. I have always loved the book of Psalms. It is so inspiring.

    • February 19, 2010 4:58 pm

      Thanks Pat! I think Psalms is such a relevant book don’t you? I mean how many of us have started a prayer out of anguish and frustration and ended it in praise and worship to God almighty; just like many of the Psalms! Thanks for taking time to stop by my blog!

Leave a Reply

