Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Rules of the House’

February 9, 2010

As I’ve become more aware of the responsibilities I have as a husband, more than just taking out the trash and checking the weird noises in the middle of the night, I’ve become more aware of my incapabilities.  In other words, the role the Lord has given me can only be fulfilled by Christ working in and through me.  As John said, “He must become great and I must become less.”

The other day, after I had prayed for His help to understand and fulfill my role as husband in a Christ-like manner, the Lord led me to Colossians 3.  As I read through the chapter I envisioned a large wall plaque that said “Rules & Roles of the House.”

Rules of The House

  • Seek the things of God with your heart and your mind over earthly things
  • Destroy the tendencies of your earthly nature; lust, greed, anger, malice, slander, and filthy language
  • Do not lie to each other
  • Clothe yourself with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience
  • Endure with each other by forgiving anything as you have been forgiven for everything by Christ
  • Above all, love one another unconditionally

Roles of The House

  • Wives, voluntarily cooperate with your husband by following his leadership
  • Husbands, love your wives dearly and unconditionally.  Refrain from being bitter towards her
  • Children, be obedient to your parents because doing so is pleasing to the Lord
  • Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger as it may cause them to be broken in spirit

Remember:  Fulfill these with all your heart as if you were working for the Lord because truly, it is the Lord Christ you are serving

I’m not sure if it will go with the decor of our apartment but I believe I’m going to fix up something to put these in our home.  Personally, I know I need the reminder everyday.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

