Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘As Christ Loved The Church’

February 8, 2010

- My Beautiful Wife -

Anybody can sign up to be a husband.  All they have to do is find someone who will marry them and head down to the courthouse, sign a few forms, pay a little fee, and next thing you know they are a husband.  However, I don’t want to be just another husband.  I want to fulfill my role as a husband the way it is described in the scriptures.  I’ve definitely got a long way to go, but I’m determined to get there.  I want to love my wife as Christ loves the church.

Now don’t misunderstand me here on this point.  I already love my wife dearly.  She is my “precious little wife that I could fit in my pocket.”  However, when I read the scriptures and see the call that God has placed on me as a husband therein, I am certain there is room for improvement.

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.  In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies.  He who loves his wife loves himself.  Ephesians 5:25-28

- "Like a lily among thorns is my darling among the maidens" Song of Solomon 2:2 -

“As Christ loved the church.”  Do you know that on my wedding day when those words were spoken to me by the Pastor, I broke into tears.  In front of the whole wedding party and guests, I was crying.  Do you know why?  Because that call is so far beyond me that I knew I couldn’t do it on my own.  I guess you could say the reality of the situation hit me.  In that moment I realized my hopelessness without Christ.  Praise God He lives within me though!  With a desire to yield to the authority of His word and to the urging of the Holy Spirit, I press on towards that responsibility of loving my wife as Christ loved the church.

I want my wife to experience the love that only Christ can give her through me as her husband.  I want to love her to the supernatural degree that Christ loves the church.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

P.S. – I love you honey

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Justin Rutrough permalink
    February 8, 2010 10:12 pm

    Every husband should love his wife forever. You are married together for life.

Leave a Reply

