Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘I Don’t Need Church’

February 3, 2010

Recently I was reminded of just how important it is to be part of a Bible teaching church.  A friend of mine has been talking about getting involved in a church with their kids for several years now and it always seems to be pushed off further and further and the day of finally going never gets here.  What they say with their lips is “I’m trying to find the right church” but what they say with their action is “I don’t need church.”

I had to cross that bridge once myself too.  I guess it was a part of maturing as a believer.  What I once considered optional I now consider vital.  I could not imagine what I would do without a church now.  I’d be easy prey for the devil that’s for sure.  The Bible says:

Be self-controlled and alert.  Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.  1 Peter 5:8

As I was praying for my friend this morning who is having some difficult times with a couple of their children, I got to thinking about this verse.  I know each member of that family has claimed the name of Jesus and is a Christian.  Therefore I also know each one of them is now a prime target for Satan.  The accuser of the brethren is not above destroying a family member by member, or even suggesting that one be against another.  Remember, his goal is to devour and he is prowling for a target.

Now I’m not saying that church is the answer to everything or that people in church don’t have problems.  Satan can hit his target in the middle of pew just as easily as he can anywhere else.  What I am saying is that it is safer inside the church than it is outside, and I’m not just talking about the building.

Do I think if my friend started going to church that maybe some of the difficulties with their children would cease?  Maybe.  I’d say it be one giant step in the right direction.  A church that teaches the word, challenges believers, and presents opportunities for fellowship and accountability is vital to every Christian.  We need church.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    February 3, 2010 11:42 am

    Great blog Tony. I agree with you totally. One difference I see between going to church and not attending is that Satan can hit the target in the middle of the pew, but when he does there are people surrounding that person to build them up and support them with Godly wisdom and prayer. Without that fellowship of believers a lot of times you have to go it alone. I know in my life there are various members of our church that I go to for advice. Not everyone can tell me how to deal with a discipline problem but an more seasoned Godly mother can. And while she may have some wonderful advice on how to discipline if I have a in depth question about a passage of scripture I may go to someone else. Every person has a unique gift that God has given them to minister to those around them. Without being surrounded by that loving church family I would think you would feel cornered by Satan, but with them you have intercessors that are ready to stand with you in whatever battle Satan wants to throw your way.

    Going to church won’t solve the problem, but serving, trusting, and seeking the Lord with the support of fellow believers I feel gives us more confidence and Satan less foothold in our lives.

    • February 3, 2010 2:18 pm

      That’s exactly what I’m talking about! Well said Christina! I’m thankful for your friendship and fellowship in our church family!

  2. Christina permalink
    February 4, 2010 12:28 am

    Thanks Tony. You guys are a blessing to us! We are thankful to have you back home.

Leave a Reply

